District Apostle Armin Brinkmann, Chief Apostle Wilhelm Leber and District Apostle Theodoor de Bruijn (Photo: W. Ruppe)

Change in the leadership of the New Apostolic Church Netherlands starting in 2011

Zurich/Hilversum. As of next year, District Apostle Armin Brinkmann of North Rhine-Westphalia will take over the leadership of the New Apostolic Church Netherlands. This announcement was made by Chief Apostle Wilhelm Leber in today’s festive divine service in Hilversum. The current District Apostle Theodoor de Bruijn (64) will be festively retired upon reaching the age limit in May of next year.

In the divine service in Hilversum, the congregation was the first to hear this news. “For some time it has been known to you that a change was in store concerning the care of the District Apostle district of the Netherlands,” said Chief Apostle Leber as he began his announcement after the divine service. He went on to state that it was his desire to inform the members about the future of the District Apostle District of the Netherlands already that day: “Together with your District Apostle, we came to the consensus that the leadership of the District Apostle district of the Netherlands and of North Rhine-Westphalia would in future be entrusted to a single District Apostle, and that will be District Apostle Armin Brinkmann.”

“It is important to me that the brothers and sisters in the Netherlands not only feel well cared for in this new situation, but also well understood,” emphasised the international Church leader. “Apostle Peter Klene from the Netherlands will thus take on the function of Church president of the New Apostolic Church Netherlands in May 2011, in order to ensure that the New Apostolic Church Netherlands will also continue to maintain an identity of its own beyond May of next year.”

District Apostle Brinkmann from Dortmund is 61 years old, and has been serving several District Churches in Europe, South America, Africa, and Asia as District Apostle since 2005. In him, New Apostolic Christians in the Netherlands—and in the countries of Anguilla, Antigua, Aruba, Malta, the Dutch Antilles, and Surinam in the care of the Netherlands—will receive an experienced minister and chief missionary shepherd.

The change in leadership is scheduled to come into effect on Sunday, 15 May 2011.

28 March 2010